Board of Trustees

The men and women who serve as our Mount Marty University Board of Trustees work selflessly behind the scenes, and their service is vitally important to our school’s success.

Trustees are nominated by the board and approved by the Council of Sacred Heart Monastery, our sponsoring institution. Trustee terms are four years, and trustees are eligible to serve two four-year terms.

The board meets three times per year. Trustees also serve on committees, including Academic Affairs, Finance and Audit, Trusteeship, Institutional Advancement, Building and Grounds, and Student Affairs and Enrollment Management.

The Board of Trustees is the ultimate fiduciary of Mount Marty University and is charged with the general oversight of our institutional affairs in accord with our charter, bylaws, evolving statements of mission and purpose, and institutional plans. 

2022-2023 Mount Marty Board of Trustees  

Sister Penny Bingham, O.S.B., Prioress
(C '73)
Yankton, SD
Sacred Heart Monastery

Sister Mildred Busch, O.S.B.
Yankton, SD
Sacred Heart Monastery

Mr. Michael Donohoe
Dallas, TX



Dr. Jim Fitzgerald, Chair
Yankton, SD
Partner, First Chiropractic Centers, P.C.

 Mr. Denis Fokken

Mr. Denis Fokken, Treasurer
(C '73)
Yankton, SD
Retired Chief Financial Officer, First Dakota National Bank 

Mr. Shawn Gallagher
Yorktown, VA
Retired Attorney Advisor at NASA Langley Research Center

Dr. J. Lee Johnson
Manitou Beach, MI
Senior Vice President for Business and Finance, Siena Heights University
Fr. James Keiter
Fordyce, NE
Pastor of: 
- All Saints Parish: Constance, Fordyce & Menominee, Nebraska 
- Holy Family Parish: Bow Valley, St. Helena & Wynot, Nebraska 
- St. Rose of Lima Parish: Crofton, Nebraska 

Sister Barbara McTague, O.S.B.

Sister Barbara McTague, O.S.B. 
(C '71)
Yankton, SD 
Office Assistant, Saint Mary Catholic Church



Sister Mary Jo Polak, O.S.B., Secretary
Yankton, SD 
Sacred Heart Monastery



 John Porter

Mr. John Porter 
Sioux Falls, SD
Retired CEO, Avera Health

Mr. Donald Roby
Watertown, SD 
Partner, R & R Investments, LLC


Mr. Rob Stephenson of First Dakota National Bank Mr. Rob Stephenson, Vice Chair
Yankton, SD 
President and COO, First Dakota National Bank
Mr. Daryl Thuringer
Sioux Falls, SD 
Brand and Acquisition Director, Premier Bankcard
Sister Patricia Ann Toscano, OSB Sister Patricia Ann Toscano, O.S.B.  
Yankton, SD 
Sacred Heart Monastery

Sister Carol Jean VanDenHemel, O.S.B.
Omaha, NE 
Teacher, Mount Michael Benedictine High School

  Dr. Rachel Vannatta
(C '87)
Bowling Green, OH
Distinguished Teaching Professor, Bowling Green State University
 Long Dr. Marcus Long, President, OblOSB
Yankton, SD
President, Mount Marty University