University accreditation provides assurances to our students that they can expect to receive a high-quality education. Beautiful buildings and winning basketball teams are wonderful, but it’s important for students to have comfort in knowing that they will be prepared for the workplace and the world when they go forth. Accreditation also ensures your eligibility in federal programs, credit transfers and graduate program applications. Mount Marty University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.  Further accreditations can be found below. 

Higher Learning Commission

230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604-1413
(800) 621-7440


The following programs are approved and/or accredited by specialized accrediting bodies:

Teacher Education

The Teacher Education program is approved by the South Dakota State Board of Education (


The baccalaureate degree, master's degree, post-graduate APRN certificate and the DNP (Doctor of Nursing Practice in Leadership and Education) are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (

The graduate nurse anesthesia program is accredited by the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (; a specialized accrediting body recognized by the US Department of Education (USDE) and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). 

The baccalaureate degree program in nursing, the master's degree program in nursing, the post-graduate APRN certificate program, and the graduate nurse anesthesia program are approved by the South Dakota Board of Nursing (

MMU is also a member of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges, Association of Veterans Education Certifying Officials, Council of Independent Colleges, National Association of College and University Business Officers, National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, National Student Clearinghouse, South Dakota Foundation of Independent Colleges, Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities and Great Plains Athletic Conference.