Board of Trustees

The men and women who serve as our Mount Marty University Board of Trustees work selflessly behind the scenes, and their service is vitally important to our school’s success.

Trustees are nominated by the board and approved by the Council of Sacred Heart Monastery, our sponsoring institution. Trustee terms are four years, and trustees are eligible to serve two four-year terms.

The board meets three times per year. Trustees also serve on committees, including Academic Affairs, Finance and Audit, Trusteeship, Institutional Advancement, Building and Grounds, and Student Affairs and Enrollment Management.

The Board of Trustees is the ultimate fiduciary of Mount Marty University and is charged with the general oversight of our institutional affairs in accord with our charter, bylaws, evolving statements of mission and purpose, and institutional plans. 

2019-2020 Mount Marty Board of Trustees  

	 Sister Mary Carole Curran

Sister Mary Carole Curran, O.S.B.
(C '65)
Yankton, SD
Sacred Heart Monastery


 Sister Joyce Feterl, O.S.B

Sister Joyce Feterl, O.S.B, 
(C '74)
Mitchell, SD
Outreach Ministry, Holy Family Parish

Deb Fischer-Clemens

Ms. Deb Fischer-Clemens
(C '77)
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Vice President, Avera Center for Public Policy 


Dr. Jim Fitzgerald
Yankton, SD
First Chiropractic Centers, P.C.

 Mr. Denis Fokken


Mr. Denis Fokken, Treasurer
(C '73)
Yankton, SD
Retired Chief Financial Officer, First Dakota National Bank 



Ms. Kathie Gerstner
(C '87)
Yankton, SD
Retired Business Owner

  Dr. Lori Hansen
Yankton, SD
Board Certified Pulmonologist, Yankton Medical Clinic, P.C.




Mr. David Johnson
Watertown, SD
Dr. J. Lee Johnson
Manitou Beach, MI
Senior Vice President for Business and Finance, Siena Heights University
Fr. James Keiter
Fordyce, NE
Pastor of: 
- All Saints Parish: Constance, Fordyce & Menominee, Nebraska 
- Holy Family Parish: Bow Valley, St. Helena & Wynot, Nebraska 
- St. Rose of Lima Parish: Crofton, Nebraska 

Dr. Al Kurtenbach Dr. Al Kurtenbach 
Brookings, SD 
Daktronics, Inc.
May.jpg Mr. Jeff May
Yankton, SD 
Kolberg-Pioneer, Inc.

Sister Barbara McTague, O.S.B. 
(C '71)
Yankton, SD 
Sacred Heart Monastery



Deacon John Osnes, Ph.D. Deacon John Osnes, Ph.D., Chair 
Rapid City, SD 
Permanent Deacon Catholic Diocese of Rapid City

Sister Mary Jo Polak, O.S.B.
Yankton, SD 
Sacred Heart Monastery



 Mr. Donald Roby
Watertown, SD 
R & R Investments, LLC


Fr. Paul Rutten
Sioux Falls, SD 
Saint Mary Catholic Church
Mr. Rob Stephenson
Yankton, SD 
First Dakota National Bank
Mr. Daryl Thuringer, Secretary
Sioux Falls, SD 
Catholic Diocese of Sioux Falls
 Dr. Allan Tramp Dr. Allan Tramp
(C '80)
Falls City, NE 

Dr. Victoria Vlach
Hartington, NE 
Yankton Anesthesiology, P.C.


Sister Carol Jean VanDenHemel, O.S.B.
Omaha, NE 
Mount Michael Benedictine High School


   Sister Maribeth Wentzlaff, O.S.B., Prioress
(C '88)
Yankton, SD
Sacred Heart Monastery
 Ms. Nancy Werner, Vice Chair  Ms. Nancy Werner, Vice Chair
(C '83)
St. Louis, MO
Chancellor, Archdiocese of St. Louis